This is going to be a shorter blog basically because.... well it's Friday and I have shit to do. However, I do want to say thank you to everyone who has been reading these and I really do appreciate it! So thank you! Rant over...
I think we all know a friend who has dated someone who was no good for them or maybe we were the one who dated that person. Either way, people make decisions that aren't always the correct decision to choose. Why do men date women who lack a genuine personality? Who do women date men who treat them like they're garbage but they're "meant to be"? This clouded judgement is called the Halo Effect. The Halo Effect is a judgement about a person based on looks that clouds into judgements about their specific traits. Our first initial judgement of others can alter are perception. In other words, we often see only what we want to see.
Example: Earlier today I showed fifteen people two pictures. The first picture was an adorable beagle puppy. I described the puppy as an 8 week old female who was not obedient and not potty trained. I then showed a picture of a beagle puppy not as adoarble as the first one. The description on this puppy was an 8 week old female who was obedient and potty trained. I then asked: Honestly, which puppy would you choose? 12 out of 15 people picked the first puppy, including myself. Even though the most logical choice should be puppy number two, we choose number one because it "looks cute".
Another example that comes to mind is when I've met someone famous. I have met many musicians who turn out to be the complete opposite as to what I imagined. Chris Young is a perfect example of how the halo effect works. Before I met Chris Young, I assumed he was sweet, funny and down-to-earth based solely on his music and looks. After I met him, my opinion completely changed. He was rude and self-centered, not how I pictured him at all. Still sexy though lol. Thats why stars and musicians are perfect examples of the Halo Effect; because they are often attractive and likeable we naturally assume they are also intelligent and friendly.
I think this is a fascinating study and it's definitely something you should be aware of. The next time you go on a date ask yourself is the Halo Effect being used here? Do you know anyone who has ever been clouded because of the Halo Effect?



Leave a Reply.